Training On No Fuel – Preparing For The Reality Of Running Europe #RunE1Trail @Pledgesports @trailrunningmag 

I decided yesterday to start a new phase of my training.  One that by all accounts is deemed risky and stupid, but here’s the point…

There are lots of sections in Norway and Sweden so far where getting food as we do in our everyday lives and outings is not going to happen.  I will have to carry it all and with that comes the risk of injury and the inevitable need to slow down.  The other issue will be the additional calories needed to carry this extra food so one solution (maybe not the best but..) is to carry less food but cover the same distances.  

Today I ran 31 miles in a fasted state, with no fuel being taken on board at all and then only 500cal of food after running.  I feel no different to racing a 50k but there is one thing…

Mentally, the thought of having to repeat today’s run distance and on next to no fuel has destroyed my motivation to move.  This is going to be the thing that pushes me to my breaking point during the E1 run.  The reality of hardly any calories and an incomprehensible distance.

This stage of training makes perfect sense to me.  Even though I’m sat here battling with the want for more food and refusing to eat anything else today, despite having a few slices of pizza about a meter away from me.

The other thing is I’ve realised this must have been what my grandparents faced during WWII!  I can’t even begin to comprehend their hardship, but if they managed it and came out as some of the most incredibly strong people I know, I think I’m gonna just run 30 miles tomorrow and be greatfull I have 500cal of food.  

2 thoughts on “Training On No Fuel – Preparing For The Reality Of Running Europe #RunE1Trail @Pledgesports @trailrunningmag 

  1. Yes, this is tough… Strength and good luck to you! Maybe it’s too late right now for your trip, but one thing I do to help running in a fasted state is to practice fasting in its own right. It forces you to burn fat from an even deeper level than you would while running – which makes running in a fasting state relatively easy – especially psychologically (emphasis on ‘relatively’!).

Leave a Reply

