Leaping In To The Unkown – Vote #RunE1Trail #GetOutside bit.ly/MYWBvote

I’ve written this post 3 times now and each time I’ve struggled to get what I wanted to say out in a coherent fashion.  Hopefully, this time will be the final write, but when you just let words flow from your head and guide your fingers to place them on the screen, it doesn’t always quite pan out the way you expect.

For years I’ve been trapped by poor decisions.  Decisions that I’ve decided I will stick by and decision that I am not going to turn back on, regardless of the thoughts of others.  Recently, I’ve wandered whether I am actually trapped by them or whether I’ve just lacked the conviction or confidence to step out of the comfort bubble of normal life.  The more I’ve thought about it, the more I’ve realised that it’s less of the former and more of the latter.

I have to have enough money to live but before that I need to have enough money to pay back debt that I’m working on clearing, but does that mean that I’m not able to live as I wish and do what I want to do?

On Monday, after some general avoiding the inevitable, I decided I was going to act.  It wasn’t a gradual decision, but something I knew was inevitable.  I waited the entire day at work and then, with the help of a friend, began to type…

“I am writing to inform you that I intend on leaving my post as a science teacher, effective from September 2016”

My initial step into teaching was one born from the want for more money, which got me more stuff and allowed me the comforts of living beyond my means and supporting someone else’s wants and desires.  That bubble burst and I’ve learnt that money is not what allows us to survive.  Now, I’ve stepped on to a trail that has no sign posts or known destination.  I have no idea what is likely to happen and instead of panicking I seem to be problem solving!

I’m going to find out is I am able to live as I wish and do what I want to do.  There is no other option.  My course may change along the way, but one direction I refuse to face is backwards.

I have already worked out the budgeting for the E1 trail using my final 2 paycheques.  I’ve even begun to work of finding other sources of funding, although I’m doubtful I’ll find any and I’m reluctant to ask for it, but the E1 trail adventure is going to take place, whether I am able to gain enough votes to win the funding from Discovery Channel.

I place my self in the…

I very nearly typed the words “I place myself in the hands of the gods” but I firmly believe that there are no Gods or Masters that influence our decisions.  We are in control of them, so instead I place the fate of #RunE1Trail and potential funding in your hands.  Do as you feel is right and look beyond what may appear to be the most foolish decision a person could make.  Instead, look at what a person is trying to achieve and vote based on those merits alone.

 

Thanks for reading.

 

4 thoughts on “Leaping In To The Unkown – Vote #RunE1Trail #GetOutside bit.ly/MYWBvote

  1. I don’t believe you’ll ever regret your decision. One day, perhaps, you’ll wonder why the making of it was so hard.

    Many people don’t realize they have ‘choices’…

    It will work out… or it won’t… but either way is better than not knowing if it could have.

  2. You won’t remember me – I sat next to you on the coach to the start at Fellsman a couple of years ago. I keep seeing your posts pop-up on Facebook from time to time…

    I quit my job last year, in a couple of weeks I’m heading to the USA with a backpack containing everything I need to live for a few months – it’s an amazing, liberating experience escaping from the “normal” llifestyle that society expects us to live inside.

    Good luck – life is for living, regret nothing! Guy

Leave a Reply

