When The Dust Of Excitement Settles

Vote here for adventure –> bit.ly/MYWBvote – #RunE1Trail

Not sure who this post will pan out.  In fact I’m not really sure what I’m trying to say.  It is simply the cathartic act of getting thoughts that are indistinct out in the open where I can see them.

I’ve spent a week living in a manner that most would struggle to comprehend.  In fact I’ve lived in this manner for the last month or so.  I’ve experienced nights in the howling gales of a storm only to wake to the glory of a rising sun.  I’ve struggled to stay warm yet woken to dew upon my beard.  I’ve realised that even though I’ve withheld away at what I think I need to survive, I still have more than necessary and I’ve realised that when you have little the true kindness in others shines out.

Now I’m faced with a return to work and I feel like an animal that knows it is walking into a cage.  For the first time all week I feel anything other than relaxed and at ease.  The problem isn’t that I can’t cope with my job or I’m unable to leave it.  The problem is that I’m torn between a deep sense of duty to the people I work with and to the students I teach and the need to do what I know is right for me.  I’m willing to take a chance that I will find work come September and I’m going to launch  myself out into the unknown in the hope that I can find enough money to live and to pay the debt I took on as part of my past.

Really…  I need to do what I can to gain funding to make the E1 trail adventure happen.  The chances of winning the #MYWBPledge are slim but the chance is enough for me to have a new level of motivation in my training.  I’m willing to sacrifice the comforts and luxuries that we all work for, just to help with the funding of this adventure, so here’s a toast to lady luck.  I’ll do my bit, if you do yours. 😀

Thanks for reading the ramblings of someone who is stuck in a quandary and is trying to make sense of what he is learning on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

