Self Perpetuating Motivational Device

In all the training, organising potential sponsorship, contacting people regarding potential talks post run and getting the equipment sorted, I completely forgot that there is a Land’s End to John O’Groats Association.  This is what their site says about becoming a member:

“Anyone who has completed the journey From Land’s End to John o’ Groats in either direction, by whatever means of transport is eligible for membership of the Association.  You will have to have completed your trip as a single journey no matter how long that takes and you will be asked to provide evidence of a properly completed trip which could be in the form of a diary or log book with signatures from anyone who has witnessed your trip.  Many places, garages, post offices etc have a date stamp and will be happy to stamp and sign your log.  Other acceptable forms are accommodation receipts or similar which show where you were at any particular time and date.” 

The idea of carrying a small book that is then stamped, signed or is used to collect some kind sign of my passing is really appealing.  One of my favourite pieces of art is by the artist On kawara.  He went on a journey and would send a postcard home that simply said “I am still alive”.  Without getting deep and philosophical he was questioning his own existence.

So here’s what I plan on doing.

I’m going to purchase one of my favourite makes of notebooks, a Moleskine.  On the 26th of July, in the Early hours of a Sunday morning, I’m going to carry this small book and along the journey I’m going to collect items that I can store in this little book, and for each item title them with the date and time.  It is a little arty I guess, but as a personal piece of memorabilia, it’s going to priceless.

It’s the little things that cause out memories to jolt into action and let us relive moments in the past, so this is going to be my little memory jogger, and it’ll give a second goal to focus on whilst moving persistently forward.

I guess that’s what this post is about….

I’ve found a way of redirecting my focus at times when I will be low and struggling.  The book really can’t go unfinished!

I’ve already planned one or two of the Scottish pages.  They will be filled with the daed bodies of midges 😉

One thought on “Self Perpetuating Motivational Device

Leave a Reply

