Fueling The Furnace Of Stubborn Mentality

What in us causes doubt in others?

Why do we decide something’s are possible and something’s are not before, we have attempted the things we discount as impossible?

The biggest obstacle in raising the profile of this barefoot run I have planned is the doubt of others.  For me, it feeds something deep in my consciousness.  It builds and becomes part of my thinking and drives my actions.

In the same frustrated breath, I embrace the doubt in the whole idea that someone could travel the 1206 mile route between Land’s Ebd and John O’Groats barefooted whilst carrying everything they need and relying on the random kindness of strangers to get by.

I have no doubt about whether I’ll finish or not.  I have concerns about sections of the run, finding the right routes and paths, eating enough food, drinking enough water, coping with the lack of facilities on a day to day basis and falling into the trap of fighting against the clock from day one.  Thing is, failure is not an option as I have something to prove, and I have some guilt and sadness to shed.

2 thoughts on “Fueling The Furnace Of Stubborn Mentality

  1. Their doubt reflects their preconception of your limitations based on their experience, not your ability or determination. Can’t pretend it’s gonna be easy but I imagine it will be amazing, surprising and joyful as well as a million other things, both good and bad! For whatever it’s worth, I have faith!

    • Thanks for that 🙂
      I kinda get it, it’d just be easier if I didn’t have to turn media trolop in the mean time. Must remember it’s not about me though and more about doing the most good. I’ll get ready to embrace media trolop status. 🙂

Leave a Reply

