What’s Your Nutrition Plan in Ultras?

I’ve just had a great little conversation with Mike from Tailwind UK!

I know what two things you are likely to think…

1.  Tailwind?

2.  Tailwind in the UK?

Well, it’s not quite here yet but it’s so close that I can smell that miracle powder in the air.  Tailwind so far in a 2 weeks of training, seems to be some sort of miracle powder, and it’s hard to believe it was invented in someone’s kitchen!!

Normally, I’d have a plethora of foods from caramel waffles, brioche buns, flapjack, crispy bacon, salt tabs and some cliff shot jellies.  This year, I’m gonna carry Tailwind and use the few food stations on the 61 mile ultra I’m running on Saturday for anything solid I might fancy.  

So far, the support from Tailwind has been awesome whether from the UK contingency or from the U.S., giving me tips on how, when to use Tailwind during a run and after to help with recovery.  In fact, how often does a company contact you when they think that maybe you need a little bit of help with the product they sell?  In my experience, never!

Saturday, will be the true test and I’m going to try something I’ve not really done before during my 61miles of off-road Yorkshire fells.  I’m going to make a video blog of the race, whilst racing, so you’ll see Tailwind in action, and see what an incredible race the Fellsman actually is.  

Fingers crossed for good running weather, but I’m not sure the Trail Gods are giving without some sort of sacrifice.

Leave a comment